Skip to content

Hippie Counterculture

April 26, 2010

Recently during United States History class, I’ve been listening to a lot of music piece related to Hippie Counterculture. Some of them include, “San Francisco” by Scott McKenzie, “Okie from Muskogee” by Merle Haggard, “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds” by the Beatles, and “Imagine” by John Lennon. What I’ve been feeling often lately is that as we enter relatively recent historical age, my father is beginning to realize the subjects. For example, about two days ago, when my father and I were driving outside to dinner, the song “Imagine” came out through the car radio. So I told my father about the song, that I learned about this song during US History class and its purpose is to spread the idea of what it would be like to live in the ‘free’ world. Then, my father replied, “I know this song as well. It was pretty popular in my days.” My favorite song was Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds,” which was inspired by John Lennon’s son, Julian’s class mate Lucy. This song efficiently describes what one feels like when on drug. Take a look at this music video, and you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Pretty drowsy, huh? There’s even a rumor that the Beatles were on drug when they wrote the song. Really, if you take a look at the lyrics, “tangerine trees and marmalade skies” and “a girl with kaleidoscope eyes,” do urge you to enter a world full of pretty horses and daisies. The title is interesting once you take a look at it, for it stands for LSD, a type of drug. During this era, Hippies who were against the war protested peacefully by believing in ‘sharing the love’ and using drugs. For example, they had Woodstock Festival in 1969 was all about 3 days of peace & love, where people would just gather at a square in New York and ‘share the love’ for three days. Hippies Counterculture was a very interesting topic to study to me. Through these lessons, I’ve learned a lot of things about how people each reacted to the news of war.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

